Embracing Wisdom

Life, food, wellness and love

Meditation

Leave a comment

For the beginning meditator, a great way to introduce the practice is to use mantra—a repeated word or phrase.  This form of meditation can allow the person to learn to focus on just one thing–the mantra–and quiet the noise of other thoughts. 

Sometimes referred to as Japa meditation, it is a beautiful thing to hold in your hands a beaded mala  and repeat the mantra as your finger slides over each bead. 108 times you will be repeating a word or phrase so be sure the mantra is positive, clear and concise. 

Some examples of mantra are:

  • I am
  • Om
  • I am love
  • I am health
  • Happiness surrounds me
  • I am worthy
  • Abundance is mine
  • Peace for all  

By starting out your day with mantra, you call into your life an awareness of what already exists in you. Try it and be amazed and the positive outcome you will have (and your furry meditating companion may also benefit). 

  

Author: embracingspirit

I am a yogi, mom, college student, advocate, optimist, dog walker, and lover of trees. While I am raising a girl with autism and two typical boys I am on a journey of self-discovery. I share Yoga with people living with traumatic brain injuries and other disabilities.

Leave a Reply

